The answer to all of your questions…

Many people have been asking what I plan to do in Russia, why I am moving, where I am living, do I speak Russian, etc.  I had intended to keep a blog to chronicle my adventures abroad, but figured I would start it pre-trip to keep people in the loop about my plans.

The name of the blog sums up my reason for moving in four words – “To Russia For Love.” The principle reason I am moving to Moscow is that Michael, my fiance, moved there for work earlier this fall.  He will be there for a few years.  I am excited about the opportunity it presents me to live abroad, experience a new culture, travel and grow our relationship in deep ways.

I traveled to Moscow for a few days to look for apartments with Michael and get a sense of the city.  He found a great apartment.  The kitchen is nicer than my kitchen in Brooklyn with a stainless steel refrigerator and a washer/dryer (in the kitchen – it is  a Russian thing).  It is a two bedroom apartment!

One of the things I figured out during the trip is that a rudimentary understanding of Russian is necessary to get around.  All the signs are in Russian, written in the Cyrillic alphabet, plus menus are usually just in Russian.  I love to eat and need to be able to order food myself.  Therefore, when I arrive I am going to enroll in an intensive Russian course for a month or two.  I have been using Rosetta Stone in the meantime.  I know my letters, colors, animals and I can count to six.  I think that qualifies me to work in a pet store!

I have been making lots of connections in the Jewish and international NGO community. After I complete my Russian program I hope to find a job doing fulfilling work.

I look forward to experiencing a new culture and taking advantage of everything Russia has to offer from the arts and culture to surviving a Russian winter.

I leave five weeks from today! Currently, I am working on getting my visa!

From Russia with Love, Heather (well soon I will be in Russia)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The answer to all of your questions…

  1. Julia says:

    Great use of Rosetta Stone! Can’t wait to hear about all your Russian adventures!!!

  2. Rachel says:

    Wish we would have gotten to see you before you left but pretty sure you won’t be making a trip to Florida in the next 5 weeks!! But very proud of you… I could never do what you are doing!!! Maybe one day (if I win the lottery) I could see the world as you are!!! With all my love!! Rachel

  3. Rachel Fleishman Manni says:

    I laughed out loud at the “I know my letters, colors, animals and I can count to six. I think that qualifies me to work in a pet store!” part!! And I am still laughing as I type this. Anyway, I’m so excited for you. It sounds like an awesome experience. I hope to get there myself one of these days. Although, probably not in the winter! Anyway, stay warm, best of luck and nesiyah tova!! Oh – and what does your fiance do that would bring him to work in Russia?

  4. Adina says:

    I love that you started a blog! Looking forward to reading more fun stories!

  5. Elena says:

    I look forward to keeping up with all your adventures!

  6. Mona says:

    Peter and I will miss your infectious smile and your dedication to everything you do. Lots of good luck on your exciting adventure. It is surely an opportunity of a lifetime. Stay safe and come back to AIPAC one day with lots of stories. You could be a guest speaker!

  7. Stephanie says:

    Love this – I also laughed out loud at the pet store comment – especially since I have such fond memories of your love of animals in Europe 🙂 Miss you already and can’t wait to hear about all your adventures!

  8. Malky says:

    Awesome! So happy you are blogging.
    Who knows? Today a blog, maybe one day a book? I know a good editor…
    Can’t wait to read all about it!

  9. andie and ari says:

    we are super excited to keep up with fabulous you~ great idea!

  10. Elaine says:

    This is awesome! I love that you are blogging. Love the name, very cute! I can’t wait to read about everything you are doing there. I will miss you and your sweet energy but I am so incredibly happy for you and Michael. I will definitely see you on December 11th. Can’t wait!

  11. Christine says:

    Thanks for creating something that allows us non-Facebook types to keep up to do date!
    This is going to be a super adventure. I’m thrilled for you and Michael.

Leave a Reply

